Goodreads Challenge 2016?

I have been thinking and thinking about this upcoming year and what I think it is going to hold in terms of reading. For the majority of 2015 I kept saying that 2016 was going to be my “100 book year”. As it gets closer it is beginning to look more unrealistic.

In terms of how busy my life is going to be, it’s very unknown at this point in time. I am still unsure if I am going to be enrolled in college next semester. If I am not in school, I will be picking up another job, and I don’t know what that job would be yet. Which is how I have no clue how much free time the next year is going to have for me. 2016 is also the year I will be moving out on my own, well, with my boyfriend. So with an unsure work/school schedule and gearing up for a move in the spring, I’m not going to push myself to read too much.

As I’ve stated before my overall goal for 2016 is to catch up on and complete all the series that I am in the middle of. This leaves quite a few large books on my list of books to get to.

I think a good goal is a book a week. This still requires effort from me to make sure that I am reading consistently but leaves a lot of leeway for me too.

So, 52 books. Lookout for my official declaration on Goodreads on January 1st.

 

What are your reading goals in 2016?

5 thoughts on “Goodreads Challenge 2016?

  1. Marie @ drizzleandhurricanebooks says:

    Thinking about book goals for the year is kind of stressing, becase there are so many books we want to read, yet so little time, and life sometimes gets in the way… 52 is such a great goal, I really hope you’ll make it!! 😀 I don’t know yet what mine will be. This year I read around 46 books for now…I’m hoping to fix the same goal as you 😀

    Like

    • planandread says:

      It’s hard for me to decide not to one-up myself from this year. In 2013 I read 40, 2014 I read 50, and this year in 2015 I have already read 83! It’s hard to take a step back and realize that its not really about the number of books I read. I want to enjoy myself again and that might mean investing more time into one book or series rather than rushing through books just for the sake of numbers. Hopefully I can keep good spirits up for the whole year!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Marie @ drizzleandhurricanebooks says:

        You’re so right about this. Sometimes I feel pressured a little bit, seeing that some people are reading TONS of books -and by that, I mean like, 100, 200 books per year-, and I’m struggling to read 40. But yes, it’s really about the number of books, it’s about enjoying ourselves while reading, that’s so true 😀

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

