Weekly Wrap Up: December Week 2 2015

Another great reading week and I am still on track once again! I managed to read 3 more full length books this week so here are my thoughts!

 

The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender by Leslye Walton. This book was more strange than anything. All of my friends on Goodreads who had read this gave it 5 stars, but I didn’t like it at all. It was giving me similar vibes to The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman, which I hated. I think magical realism just isn’t my thing. This story provided a lot of backstory on Ava’s grandmother and mother’s lives which seemed irrelevant to the extent that it was included. Nothing was explained. It was written well but what does that count for if the plot isn’t there? Lastly, my dog’s name is Ava.

 

Losing It by Cora Carmack (Losing It, #1). This was the quick read I needed when I picked it up. It was extremely cheesy and a not at all deep new adult book. The writing wasn’t great and the plot was really predictable. The whole point of this story is that Bliss leaves Garrick in her bed after an almost one-night stand and then finds out that he is her teacher. You would think that the story would be more about them trying to stay away from each other, but it’s not. They don’t try to stay away they basically just try to keep it a secret. Not much can happen in a 250 page book so everything just seemed to go too quick. The progression of the relationship seemed a little bit too ridiculous at the end part but overall I gave this book a 3 star rating. Guilty pleasure. I am planning on continuing this series to see if the writing gets a little better.

 

P.S. I Still Love You by Jenny Han (To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before, #2). Let me tell you, I was dreading this book. I read the first book To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before way back in May of 2014 and thought it was decent. I wasn’t too thrilled to read this book when it came out but somehow it ended up in my possession. I had heard really mixed things and everyone kept saying that “Lara Jean didn’t end up with who I wanted her to.” I figured I should read it now before it went straight to my donate pile. I ended up loving this book the entire time! The story seemed like it was easy to pick back up on even though I couldn’t remember hardly anything from the first book. This book does take a strange turn and I agree that Lara Jean didn’t end up with the guy that I wanted her to. The family aspect alone is something I would recommend this book on. I loved especially in this book seeing how well Lara Jean stepped up in helping to raise Kitty and how hard her dad was trying to be there for her. That being said, I enjoyed the whole book and was just slightly unhappy with the ending so I gave it 4 stars!

 

This coming week is finals weeks! My game plan is to still keep up with the track record of 3 books, but I’m going to squeeze in some of the smaller books I had planned for the month rather than larger ones.

One thought on “Weekly Wrap Up: December Week 2 2015

Leave a Reply

