Weekly Wrap Up: December Week 1 2015

I have decided to do my Wrap Up’s in this smaller version so that I can talk about the the books I’m reading a little more instead of just listing them off. If I don’t read more than one book in a particular week I can always combine weeks.

This week I read more than I’ve read in a single week in a long time!

I started the week off in a long stretch reading Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel. I’d heard nothing but good things about this book, but I found it extremely lacking. This is a post-apocalyptic book about a massive flu epidemic coming over the world and destroying most of the population. It is formatted in the way that it starts with the beginning followed by the end, and then she’s slowly filling in the middle so you can see how the characters got from one place to the other. When I say slowly, I mean slowly. In the end I found like nothing that happened in the middle and the character were just super unproductive in terms of bouncing back from the tragic things that happened. They sat around for 20+ years not doing anything to get society back up and running. Don’t tell me everyone forget science just because this happened. You can figure out how to get electricity back in less that 20 years. This book got a 2 star rating from me.

Then on Sunday I powered through the entirety of Isla and the Happily Ever After by Stephanie Perkins. This is the final book in the Anna and the French Kiss companion series. From what I’d heard this was most people’s least favorite in the series, but it was my favorite! The other two books focused on couples who were building up to relationships the whole story and got together in the end, but in Isla the couple was together throughout a bigger portion of the book. It focused more on the struggles of their relationship than just dealing with sexual tension for 300+ pages. Being in a relationship myself this type of story, especially in the young adult context, just appealed to me more. I recognize that this book did have its faults and the characters got pretty ridiculous in the near-end part, but my ratings are based on enjoyment so this book got the full 5 stars.

I ended the week strong by finishing another book in a single day and that was Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour by Morgan Matson. I’ve owned this book for AGES and am so happy I finally picked it up. This book is essentially two strangers (kinda strangers? They knew each other when they were little) who need to get from one side of the country to the other and decide to take a little detour and see some stuff on the way. I was surprised how not romance based this book was. It was much more focused around family and the concept of home. Granted there is still romance in this book, surprisingly not just centered around these two characters stuck in a car together. Again on enjoyment this book was a 5 star read for me.

 

I am on still on track for finishing 15 books this month! It’s practically a miracle. My hopes for actually completing this goal aren’t too high yet but hey, it still seems in reach.

Let me know your favorite book of the month so far!

One thought on “Weekly Wrap Up: December Week 1 2015

Leave a Reply

