5 Stars. What Does It Mean?

I have rated 24 books 5 stars so far this year. These books include young adult fantasy, young adult dystopian, young adult contemporary, graphic novels, a speech, and new adult romance.

What makes a book deserve 5 stars? How does Ugly Love by Colleen Hoover compare to something like Saga, Volume 1 by Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples or The Coldest Girl in Coldtown by Holly Black.

Not all of the books I rate 5 stars have the best writing, or the best world, or are the most realistic thing I’ve ever read. I like to take book for what they are. I rate my books based on whether the purpose I am reading them for was fulfilled.

If I’m reading a new adult romance I’m reading it for entertainment.

If I’m reading young adult fantasy I want good world building.

If I’m reading a graphic novel the artwork is important.

If I rate a book 5 stars it is because it accomplished what I needed it to at that time. I’m not going into a fantasy book for the romance, and I’m not going into a romance book for the writing style.

So maybe that book I rated 4 stars is written way better, and is way more acclaimed, but I really liked that cheesy young adult contemporary I just read more.

3 thoughts on “5 Stars. What Does It Mean?

  1. aentee @ read at midnight says:

    I feel that I am way too generous with my five stars haha, it ranges from books I adore to books that I love with the fire of a million suns. I am inconsistent and need to give myself a new rating system.

    Like

    • planandread says:

      I’m honestly not that generous with them. Yes, 5 stars is my most used, but I rate a lot of my books 3 or 4 stars. As I said, I’ve rated 24 books 5 stars this year but that is out of 63 book!

      Like

Leave a Reply

