The Hiding Place by Trezza Azzopardi

268016

I DNF’d this book at 62 pages (22%) and I wanted to talk a little bit about why.

I would consider this an adult historical fiction novel even though it is sort-of being told by Dolores, who is a child in what I have read of the story. It is taking place in Wales in the 1960’s. Based on the synopsis I believe later the story was still going to be told from Dolores, but 30 years later. This book was published in 2000.

I was sent this book by Bookcase, which is a subscription service which sends used books to readers based on their personal reading tastes. This book is in no way reflective of my satisfaction with their services because I do love the company. I was just not a fan of one book they sent me.

I wanted to bring up the fact that this was sent to me because I think it is important to know that I did not pick this book out for myself. When I first got it and looked up what it was about a little I wasn’t completely intrigued, but enough to still give it a try.

So starting this book I realized immediately that the writing style was very strange. I don’t know if this was intentional or what was going on but it made it very difficult to read. It had weird paragraph breaks and there were no quotation marks used when characters were speaking.

There seemed to be an immense cast of characters, but no way of keeping them apart. The author didn’t do anything that made any of the characters stand out to me. Dolores was living in a family with 5 other sisters and was often referencing them like we were just suppose to know who was who, without that ever being explained. Along with all the characters who the parents were interacting with who seemed to be just thrust into the story with really no explanation. Maybe all of this was later to come but it was overall just making my reading confusing.

I did rate this 1 star on Goodreads as I do with all books I DNF. If you’re looking for historical fiction this is not where I would recommend going. This isn’t a well known book. Nobody else I am friends with on Goodreads even has this book shelved and it only has just over 1,000 ratings.

I’m all for trying new things, this one just didn’t happen to work out for me.

Leave a Reply

