September #0by16 Update

I posted my first #0by16 post in July. At that point I was at about 40 books. My goal is not actually 0 books, my goal is to have less than 10 unread books by the end of the year. Yikes, that’s coming up quick!

I’ve switched up my reading habits lately to make this goal more attainable. Before, I was really focusing on finishing series, which was causing me to constantly be buying sequels. This was obviously not helping with getting through books I already own. So for the rest of 2015 I need to put that mindset away. (2016 you can be for completing series.)

The way I am reading now is completely random. Literally. I have been using random.org to randomly select the next book I am going to read. I am doing this because the whole purpose is to be getting rid of books that have maybe been on my shelf for far too long. If I’m still just picking books, I’m very likely to pick what I’ve most recently bought. I don’t want my 10 or less books by the end of the year to all be things I’ve lost quite a bit of interest in.

So where am I standing right now? I bought 8 books in August and have already read 7 of them, but that still really put me back. I currently have 32 unread books on my shelf.

If you’ve been paying attention you’ll know that in August I had 33 unread books. My progress is looking very miniscule. The way I am reading now should help me make larger dents in this pile in the coming month(s). There are of course a few new releases this year that I will be picking up but I plan on keeping all other buying as low as possible.

Who’s down for making 2016 the year of finishing series with me?

Leave a Reply

