Unpopular Opinions

This is a tag that has been going around on BookTube within the past month or so. It was created by TheBookArcher. 

I really wanted to do this on my blog because I feel like this is a great way to start discussion. Keep in mind, I know these are unpopular opinions, which means a lot of you won’t agree with how I feel. All of our opinions are valid.

  1. A popular book or series that you didn’t like 

I did not like A Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin. With all the hype surrounding it when I went into it I was thinking that a book of that size (835 pages) would be worth my time. When I finished the book I realized it wasn’t. I don’t know if it was just a genre that I didn’t enjoy or if this book was simply bad. I have no desire to continue the series or watch the TV show. Over-hyped book. I gave the book 3 stars, it has an average rating on Goodreads of 4.43.

2. A popular book or series that everyone else seems to hate but you love

Hands down, the Caster Chronicles series by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl, the first book being Beautiful Creatures. I see people talk about this negatively so often. The only other person who comes to mind that I know liked it is Ben from BenjaminofTomes on YouTube. I read this series about 2 years ago right as I was getting into the online world of book discussions. I was completely enthralled by it. Granted, I hadn’t read many things involving magic or anything before that. I love the cast of characters in these books and still am continuing on with these books with the spin-off series Dangerous Creatures. I gave the first book 4 stars, it has an average rating on Goodreads of 3.76 stars.

3. An OTP that you don’t like

(Harry Potter spoilers but come on, you should have read it by now!)

I don’t know how unpopular this actually is considering how many people in the fandom ship these characters with other people. I do not think Ron and Hermione should have ended up together. I felt like J.K. Rowling just felt like she had to write that they ended up with someone so she threw those two together. Why couldn’t we have a group of friends that were just friends?

4. A popular book genre that you hardly reach for

Adult fantasy. I’m not someone who wants to read a super dense book. I read for enjoyment and I don’t want to feel confused and that is how the books I have read from that genre in the past have left me feeling. Strike out enough times and it’s going to be hard to get me to pick another one up.

5. A popular or beloved character that you don’t like

Augustus Waters. Which might be surprising because I actually do like The Fault in Our Stars as a whole.

6. A popular author that you just can’t seem to get into

Jenny Han. I have only read To All the Boy’s I’ve Loved before and I thought it was okay. I don’t have an interest to read her other books. If I picked up anything else by her I would just complete the duology by reading P.S. I Still Love you but I haven’t been hearing the best things about that one.

7. A popular book trope that you’re tired of seeing

The overly attractive love interest. This is completely unrealistic and not even something I’m looking for in real life. You’re not going to meet a boy that looks like a Ken doll with washboard abs. I’m more into the normal boys with substance than the dreamy eyes.

8. A popular series that you have no interest in reading

The Raven Cycle by Maggie Stiefvater. I don’t know why because I’ve heard nothing but great things but whenever I see it or hear about it I have no interest. Maybe someday in the future I will but as of now I have no plans of picking these up. Convince me otherwise if you wish.

9. What movie or TV adaptation do you prefer more than the book?

Disclaimer: I only read the first two of these books, when I was in the middle of the TV show.

That being said, Gossip Girl was a way better TV show than book series. I wouldn’t claim it’s the best TV show either but the books were just really lame. The characters are lacking in both platforms but the TV show was intriguing enough.

Let me know in the comments if you agree on any of these. Also, if you think you have an interesting answer to some of these, do the tag! Or just you know, leave it in the comments. Bash my favorite books, have at it!

Leave a Reply

