Another Day (Every Day #2) by David Levithan

Every Day by David Levithan

Another Day by David Levithan

I was so highly anticipating this book. It was probably by second most anticipated book of the year, behind Queen of Shadows of course. When I first read Every Day in February of 2014 I fell in love with it, and the concept. This second book was already being talked about then. That’s a year and a half waiting for a sequel and I didn’t even read Every Day when it first came out in August of 2012!

Being as I loved the first book so much, I recommended it to a lot of different people. My sister read it, my best friend, and I have recommended it to countless people online. I have paid attention to what other people thought of it, and I am aware that a lot of these people weren’t as impressed with it as I was.

The first book, Every Day, is about 16 year old person who wakes up in a new body every day. This has been happening for as long as they can remember. It does follow a storyline of this person interacting with a girl, Rhiannon. So while this story does have an overall plot line, there are so many other things to be learned from the book.

This person wakes up in a different body every day, always of the same age, and never going too far from the place they were the night before. This person doesn’t identify as male or female, black or white, straight or gay. This makes me, the reader, think about these concepts a lot. The underlying message is that, shouldn’t it be about the person on the inside and not all of the other superficial things?

So I finally finished the second book, Another Day. I wouldn’t consider this a sequel. It is the same exact story just told from Rhiannon’s point of view. I would say this one is much more in depth on the plot, because Rhiannon is not the one switching bodies every day. She is simply trying to figure out her life with this new concept and friend.

She has befriended this person who switches bodies every day, and she is left with so many questions. How can this be real? Is someone playing a joke on her? It is so interesting to see how she handles these physical changes of this person she is interacting with.

My absolute favorite part of this second book was Rhiannon’s thought process on pronouns. She always pictures this person as a boy in her mind, but half the time, they’re showing up as a girl. She doesn’t know whether she should call them “he” or “she”. She then goes on to think about why she thinks it’s so important to have a pronoun to use, and why there isn’t a universal pronoun. The concept that maybe this is why we’re so stuck on knowing people’s genders.

I will say with these books could have gone much further into more discrimination topics. It is mostly focused on differences in gender and sexual preference. It could have talked more about racial problems, and differences is poverty levels.

Overall, I gave both of these books 5 stars and would recommend them to everybody. These will really make you think about what we as humans find important about a person, is it superficial?

Leave a Reply

