Are You Embarrassed of Your Erin Condren Planner?

This is something that is often brought up in the planning community. Do you bring your decorated planner in public? Will people take you seriously? I’m going to give you a little insight about how I go about my “public” planning.

When I first started planning I was using a PlumPaper Planner, so take into consideration that the outside of that planner isn’t as flashy. When I was using this planner, I brought it in pubic way more often. Even the inside is way more streamlined and looks a little more professional. Also, when I was using this planner I was doing more color coding and using less stickers. That being said, I was never ashamed to take that planner in public or take it out in front of people.

Now with my Erin Condren and using stickers more heavily, I question bringing my planner places more. I’m not embarrassed by my planner or my hobby whatsoever, I just don’t think other people understand it. I wouldn’t bring my Erin Condren to my hair dresser and whip it out to write an appointment. I don’t want to deal with the questions or potential ridicule.

The way I have found to solve this is using another simple planner in my purse. I currently am carrying a Day Designer from Target, but I have used many cheaper “pocket-size” planners in my purse. I simply jot things down in pubic in that planner and transfer it into my Erin Condren when I’m at home!

In terms of people I am closer with like my family, friends, and boyfriend, I am more than willing to show off my planner. Most of these people know it is a hobby of mine. I have had multiple actually order PlumPaper Planners or an Erin Condren Planner after seeing how much I love mine!

This may not be the most practical hobby, but I’m keeping my life organized! Some people will understand it, and some people won’t. I think the most important thing is just to consider your audience. The Erin Condren may not be a business planner. Consider your options and choose what is right for you!

2 thoughts on “Are You Embarrassed of Your Erin Condren Planner?

  1. cdirig says:

    Thank you for your post. I’m sitting in Starbucks, wanting to take out my paper planner, but find myself feeling a little awkward about it. My awkwardness is more about even using *paper* (shock, horror) in a coffee shop in Silicon Valley! Haha!

    Like

    • planandread says:

      I’ve been better about it lately because more people in my life know about my planning hobby. I would still never pull it out at the dentist or at a meeting but I definitely plan in public more now!

      Like

Leave a Reply

