Scarlet by Marissa Meyer (The Lunar Chronicles #2)

Scarlet

Cinder, the cyborg mechanic, returns in the second thrilling installment of the bestselling Lunar Chronicles. She’s trying to break out of prison–even though if she succeeds, she’ll be the Commonwealth’s most wanted fugitive.

Halfway around the world, Scarlet Benoit’s grandmother is missing. It turns out there are many things Scarlet doesn’t know about her grandmother or the grave danger she has lived in her whole life. When Scarlet encounters Wolf, a street fighter who may have information as to her grandmother’s whereabouts, she is loath to trust this stranger, but is inexplicably drawn to him, and he to her. As Scarlet and Wolf unravel one mystery, they encounter another when they meet Cinder. Now, all of them must stay one step ahead of the vicious Lunar Queen Levana, who will do anything for the handsome Prince Kai to become her husband, her king, her prisoner.

(Synopsis and photo both found on goodreads.)

This series is made up of fairytale retellings with a scientific twist. Each book follows a different fairytale while still continuing the whole story arch of the series. I don’t know the true fairytales. I’ve never read the originals or know what happens in any of them. Some might think my childhood was not complete because of this, but it was never something I was interested in. I think not knowing is making this series more fun for me.

The first book, Cinder, follows the story of Cinderella, which I probably knew the most about. All I really knew about Cinderella is that she goes to a ball and is trying to get back home by midnight and that she loses her glass slipper. So when I read that first book I felt like I actually learned more about the original fairytale while reading the awesome retelling of it. When I read Cinder I gave it 4/5 stars.

Scarlet followed the story of Little Red Riding Hood. I knew absolutely nothing about this fairytale except that Little Red Riding Hood was looking for her grandmother and it had something to do with a wolf. So reading this I had absolutely no clue what to expect to happen. I didn’t have an idea about a possible story arch based off the original.

I ended up loving Scarlet more than I liked Cinder. I thought it was super awesome how this retelling a completely different thing, but it translated so well with the story that was already happening. I loved the new characters, Scarlet and Wolf, and other side characters. I feel way more invested in the story after finishing this second installment. I need to know what is going to happen. I gave this book 5/5 stars!

I am anticipating reading Cress next month which I think follows the story of Rapunzel. These books are so appealing to look at on a bookshelf and I am so excited to complete the series and have them all next to each other. The final book, Winter, is to be released on November 10th.

Leave a Reply

