Discussion: Desk Space

This is neither a planning post or a boo post, but it kind of has to do with both of those things. I am going to be talking about my lack of desk space.

At this point, I am stacking so many things on my desk that I only have a little space to actually do things on. I I don’t have enough space to have my planner and my computer out in front of me. There is no place to put the book I am currently reading!

I will explain how my desk is currently set up. My desk is just a simple black desk, very boxy. I’d say it’s about 3 feet long (too lazy to actually measure). In the front there is a drawer that I am stacked high with notebooks, markers, colored pencils, crayons, notecards, extra post-it notes, basically just things that I don’t use on a daily basis but are necessary to have. I’d say that part of my desk is organized pretty well, it’s just full. I don’t have room for any more stuff in there.

Now the top of my desk is the real problem. I have two pencil holders in the top left corner that hold all of my most frequently used utensils, things I plan with, a couple of pencils, dry-erase marker, etc. Then, below that in the bottom left corner is a real issue. This is where I find myself stacking everything! I have my two planners, my two notebooks that I use daily, and some loose paper containing various things for stuff I’m working on all stacked there. It keep those things very hard to get to, but I have no other place to put them right now! Left of all that mess is where my “free space” is, and currently where my laptop is sitting while I type this. There is just enough space for my computer to sit here. At the right side of my desk I have, my sticker stash which is in an accordion file from Target. Two normal sized sticky note pads, and two smaller ones. It’s full!

So in the next couple weeks I am going to be looking for better ways to organize my space. I may need to start getting rid of somethings in my drawer, or buying a couple of organizers so that my things aren’t all stacked on top of each other. I’ll let you know how my progress goes, but this is definitely something that needs changed!

Do you struggle with a cluttered desk?

Leave a Reply

