Pushing the Limits by Katie McGarry

The synopsis for this book starts out with “So wrong for each other… and yet so right.” This immediately made me think this was about to be the cheesiest book I’d ever read, which I was ready. Echo has gone from the popular girl to a freak with scars, but she can’t seem to remember the night she got them. Noah, bad boy with commitment issues, is trying to get his family back together after the night of his parents tragic death. The two can’t seem to resist each other, and a troubling love story ensues.

When I started this book I really did expect it to be cheesy. As Katie was setting up the plot in the beginning it seemed like it might be directed at a much younger audience than me at 18. I wasn’t sure if I was going to enjoy this. I was pleasantly surprised. Once I got about a fourth of the way through this, I could not put it down. I was so intrigued about what happened to Echo on the night she got her scars, and I needed to know how Noah was going to get his brothers back. This book seemed pretty fast paced for how long it is (almost 400 pages). The relationship was definitely a cliche bad-boy and good-girl shouldn’t be together but they can’t seem to resist it. It would still appeal to younger readers (14-17) than I am but I did enjoy it. The story is more than just the relationship but if this cliche bothers you, this book might not be for you.

I would recommend this to young teens who love contemporary or the concept of solving a mystery.

I gave Pushing the Limits by Katie McGarry 5/5 stars. It was exactly what I needed to get back into YA contemporary.

Leave a Reply

